Furry Writers' Guild Forum

YA story

After comments on the Tuesday chat, i have decided to try and write a Young Adult story of adventure and first love. Unfortunately i have never done this before so it will be interesting…
Here is what i have come up with so far, do think it will work?

Story – YA – first love – adventure – furry…

Johathan was 14, but tomorrow was his 15th birthday. He was perhaps the smallest one in his grade and constantly being teased about his size. He was also the smartest student in his entire school.
It bothered him that most of the girls would not even give him a second thought. He walked past a small group of females who seemed to gossiping. He smiled at them.
“Good Morning!” His voice was soft but he always tried to be up beat.
“EEEUUWW! It’s the runt!” They all turned away from him and walked away Their tails showing their distain for the runt.
“Well, that went pretty much as expected!” He commented to himself as his tail started to drag the ground again. As he walked up the steps of the school his attention was drawn to a poster that had been placed on the glass of the large front door. It was a colorful poster with large lettering.
Seeking the best and the brightest, we are looking for volunteers who would be willing to challenge the travels and live the adventure of a lifetime. If you have what it takes then be in the gym at 2:00 o’clock on Friday!
He had seen something like this before but could not recall what it was. The rest of the week was pretty much what he knew it would be. The larger males made fun of him, the females all shunned him and the teachers all praised him. On Thursday afternoon he had the strangest feeling he was being watched.