Furry Writers' Guild Forum

Writing in Second Person

Hello all,

I’m new here so please bear with me.

I am currently working on a story that employs second person (e.g. “you go to the counter,” “you kiss him,” etc.). This is my first time writing in this style and I was wondering if anyone had any pointers.

Thank!

Well, I don’t have any pointers per se, and this isn’t something I’ve employed a lot myself, but I think it can a lot of fun if used correctly. The main issue I run into is when it says something and the dissonance is too great. “You put the fork into the toaster…” OH MY GOD, I WOULDN’T DO THAT!

Haha, I’ll be sure to avoid that. :wink:

Welcome!

From what I can remember, the first chapter of If On A Winter Night A Traveler is in second person. It’s not exactly what you’re looking for, but it might give you some ideas :slight_smile:

I wrote a story in second person quite recently, but I’m still not sure what’s the right or wrong way to go about it! It can be very vivid and immersive, like a movie shot with a handheld camera that shows you exactly what the protagonist sees, and that’s a powerful tool.

Incidentally, I don’t get people’s problem with sticking cutlery in the toaster. I’ve been doing it all my life and have neither died nor destroyed any toasters.

I have seen second person done really well in a story called “The Axiom of Choice.” It plays on Choose-Your-Own-Adventure books to explore themes of choice and free will. This unusual form is a bit of a gimmick, but absolutely essential to what the story is trying to accomplish.

You can read the story here:
http://www.newhavenreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/01/NHR-9-Goldman.pdf

It was nominated for a Nebula.

…wow. Dude.

I started a Choose Your Own Adventure on FA that was pretty popular for the very limited run I had. My problem is I had no idea where to go with it >.>