Furry Writers' Guild Forum

Professional Appearances

Hey all,

So, I don’t quite know if this is the right place, but I wasn’t sure where else to post my question.

I’ve been in the community for some time now, but am only now taking my own appearance as a professional seriously. My handle on my pages (FA and SF mainly) are rather… awkward, and not quite something I’d really want to attach to, say an author blurb. Now most of the stuff I have on either site are commissions of art work, but, like the guild name suggests, I’m a writer – or at least I like to think of myself as one.

I plan to try to relaunch myself on those platforms (at least) under my professional name, but I’m not sure how I should quite go about it. I mean, should I delete my old accounts entirely? If so, should I repost the stories I had (all, like, five of them)? What about my art commissions that well outnumber my story submissions?

I want to be taken seriously as a writer and want to be able to create a following and I want my page to show that. Are there any recommendations one can give to someone trying to create a more professional page?

If you really want to go a more professional route, you should consider posting stories to a personal website (generally www.authorname.com or something along those lines) rather than FA or SF. Or, at least, if you mention in a bio where to find your work, mention your website rather than your FA or SF, if you really want to have the stories there as well.

FA and SF are not what I’d call websites for a professional.

I’ve long been an advocate of “owning your presence” on the web; even if you can’t get (or don’t want to get) a domain name that’s your name, paying the ~$15/yr for your own domain and connecting it up to a web site somewhere else – WordPress.com (which charges another $13/yr to hook up a custom domain), even Tumblr (which lets you use your own domain for free) – is a good idea.