Furry Writers' Guild Forum

Prelude to Adventure - Potential Fur the 'More 2017 Con Book Story

A little story I hope to submit to the Fur the 'More 2017 con book when they open for submissions. I got it together early, before I lost the idea.
The theme of the con is “8-bit Adventure” and I thought of this story as an introduction to the con.

(This is also the first thing I have ever put together for submission, so I am very new to getting critiqued.)

Ryan stared out the window and sighed. The wolf had been looking forward to this day all week. But now, it was all ruined. When his friends Terry and Jason- the ram and fox from down the street- had come over to play it had immediately begun to rain, ruining their plans for the day. Terry saved the day.

“My parents just got me this new game,” the lamb said as he rummaged in his backpack, his small tail wiggling in excitement. “It looks so cool! I’ve been waiting to show it to you guys!”
He stood back up and held a cartridge up over his tiny horns for the other two to see. It was a standard gray game cartridge with a red label that had a sword over a gold compass and silver text.

Furry Fantasy Saga?” Jason read the name. “What does that mean?”

“Well,” Terry said proudly. “You know how in most games you’re elves ‘n stuff ‘cuz they can’t show faces real well? Well in this one you can be a real Fur!”

“What?” Ryan and Jason asked together.

“Lemme show you!” Terry said as he trotted over to the TV and Ryan’s game console.

A few minutes later, they were seated in front of the TV as scenes of fantasy were playing on the screen.

“It’s one of those games,” Jason groaned as he grabbed his paws and rocked back and forth. “They’re all one player. How are we going to play together?”

“It’s okay,” Ryan assured him. “We can still pass the controller.”

Terry grinned and let out a baa of excitement. “It’s one of those menu games. We can just tell the person playing what we want our character to do.”