Furry Writers' Guild Forum

I'm a Professional - Noir Story

Hey all.

So after being bullied by the Fangs ‘n’ Fonts crew for so long, I finally have something done that I’m looking to submit to an anthology. I’d like it if some of you critical eyes out there would be willing to take a peek at it and see if you think it’s ok or if there’s some work that needs to be done. I’m betting on the latter of course.

The premise is the interior monologue of a hitman as he goes through his last job for his employer. It swtiches tenses a fair bit from past to present as a way of presenting a wandering mind. It’s not noir in the fully classic sense but I hope I’ve captured the spirit of the theme. I find it helps if you read it with a snarky feel to your inner voice.

I had fun writing this, and I hope whomever chooses to take a read will enjoy it too.

I’m attaching it as an RTF since it tops 7k words.

[EDIT] Thought I’d throw an excerpt up for everyone to check out:

[hr]

I’m a Professional

Another night.

Another night sitting on a rooftop looking out over the endless expanse of the city below. Another night freezing my ass off, wondering just why the hell I do this. Another night staring into that one window where I know he’ll eventually be. Will this be the night? Will I send that message and then watch as my bank account spins up some new numbers? If I’ve done my homework (and I have), then the answer to that question should be in the affirmative.