Furry Writers' Guild Forum

How does writing software help you?

I am completely new to approaching writing as a serious part of my life. Levelling up from fanfictino as a hobby, you might say. What I want to know is if those who use a paid software like Scrivener, or really any of its alternatives either (payment, subscription, free, any kind at all) find that it helps with the development of your writing and keeping things structured, or are such programs more geared towards the experienced writers and editors, and there’s nothing it does that couldn’t be accomplished with say, LibreOffice?

Either way, I don’t plan to impulse purchase anything for a while, just curious if it actually does make a noticeable impact for some people in terms of their productivity and development as a writer, and if so, how it changed your work.

So I used Scrivener for many years (and if you’d like to try it, I believe you get 30 days free trial and it’s a one-off purchase not a subscription). It has many benefits and is very different from a simple document writer like LibreOffice, but isn’t necessarily better. Bear in mind I haven’t used it in maybe 5 years now!

The main advantages IMO are that it lets you keep everything in one place. Your planning, your inspiration images, your outline. All there. It also let’s you easily divide your story into scenes, which you can easily move around and which track word count separately via scenes and chapters as well as over the whole document.

I do think it probably sorts certain kinds of writer better? For a non-linear writer, it must be invaluable to be able to write all the scenes separately and easily move them around via the overview. And if you do much of your planning on the PC and like to have it there and ready, character profiles and all, then that’s quite nice.