Furry Writers' Guild Forum

Flash Fiction: The Foulest Thing

This is my first attempt at flash fiction. It isn’t furry, but I’m just looking for critiques.

The Foulest Thing - 495 Words

Edmund’s wife had died when their son was in elementary school. Edmund had done his best to raise him, but it had been hard juggling work and the long hours. Outside friendships had suffered so he could devote more time to his son. Something had changed in high school and when it was time for college his son left and never returned.

His hand hesitated on the handset before he got up the courage to dial.

His son answered on the fifth ring. He could hear music and laughter in the background.

“David, don’t hang up. I miss you.” He paused. "Please come over. I’d like to see - ”

“Look, old man. I don’t want your money. I don’t ever want to see you again. Stop calling me.”

Silence. The line went dead.

He ripped the jack from the wall and threw the phone across the room. His mansion was empty and echoing. He wandered, ending up in front of his parent’s old room. The door screamed as it opened. Edmund shuffled forward, fumbling for the switch and sending a cloud of dust up from the carpet. He hadn’t entered this bedroom since they had died.

The light flickered then stayed on, illuminating the retro seventies orange shag carpet, paisley curtains thick with dust, and assorted grimy knicknacks. Something sparkled, half hidden under a floral print hat. His purpose forgotten he crossed the room and revealed a white horn, slightly curved with a corkscrew spiral edge.

The horn was warm under his fingers. He marveled at how clean it was after twenty years of neglect.

In the brighter light of his study, laying on his desk it was miraculous.

Sunlight sparkled about the horn, creating shifting rainbows on the walls.

It was the most beautiful thing he’d ever seen.

The folks at the antique mall were just as impressed as he’d been when he found it. “We’ll give you a thousand for it.”