Furry Writers' Guild Forum

Finally arriving at the FWG after far too long

Hello. I’m Lawrence. I’ve been writing SF for a good while now. One of my first credits was in 1990 in the pages of Mythagoras (issues #2 and #3, I think) when I was a professor at New College. I was actually living in the dorms alongside the students back then, and though he never took any of my classes, one of the students I tended to hang around with was Watts Martin. I remember that Watts was trying to get a role-playing game going, based on the Erma Felna storyline from Albedo Anthropomorphics. He invited me to play, and began explaining that to start I had to choose what race I wanted to play, and he listed option. This would have been in 1988 or '89, so my memory of the conversation may be a bit off, but I think it went something like this:

Me: I want to play an elephant.
Watts: Um… that’s not an option. We can probably fake it though…
Me: Right, an elephant. From a planet where there are nothing but islands. And the islands are full of rain forests. And it rains. Every. Day.
Watts: Um…
Me: And the elephant grandmothers on that planet, they have an expression. They say, “So, do you think it will rain today?” And they laugh and laugh and laugh!
Watts: Um…

Or something like that.

Two things about this are worth mentioning. First, we never did play the game. Second, I vowed then and there to start writing a novel about those elephants, and Watts published the first two chapters.

Not long after, my academic career took me away from New College, and I fell out of contact with the students there (including Watts). But I did write the novel. It was chock full of cool ideas, lots of different anthropomorphic races, a drug that let you talk to the dead, themes of intolerance as well as loyalty, and a lot more besides.

Unfortunately, the writing sucked!

Worse still, I didn’t realize how badly the writing sucked!