Furry Writers' Guild Forum

Editing - is it necessary?

Inspired by explosion on Twitter.

As an editor, my opinion on this goes without saying. I’m talking about actual editing, as in seeking out someone who knows what they are doing before looking to publication. This is also not including self-editing, though self-edits are still better than none. What are all of your opinions on this?

My editor is worth his weight in gold (sorry for the cliche :wink: ) but I self publish. I would absolutely advise anyone who’s self publishing to find a good editor, pay them well, and be happy.

If you’re seeking traditional publication… that’s a little different for me. For that I think, polish it as best you can, swap beta reads and critiques with others, but I wouldn’t (well, Couldn’t :smiley: ) pay an editor on a piece that is going to be edited again (hopefully :smiley: ) if it’s accepted. For someone who feels they really need deep editing assistance it might be different. Like a book doctor :smiley:

Most publishers (don’t know about furry) will pretty much kick your story to the curb after the third or so typo in a chapter. The worst myth is that “publishers have editors so they will do that part for you”. They expect your absolute best when they get it.

Hi

First time poster!

I don’t see the trouble of getting an edited copy. You either like it’s feedback or you don’t. If so, try a different publisher.

To clarify, is this speaking to those who have issues with people editing their work? If so, totally agree.

This makes me want to bring up other questions such as:

How do can one become a better editor?

At what point should you start charging for editing services?

What would you charge/pay for editing?

What would you charge/pay for editing?

5 coffees and a sub.