Furry Writers' Guild Forum

2017-18 FWG Presidency

Hi! I’m Makyo or Madison Scott-Clary and I’m a space cadet! And also president! Last year, Chipotle made an introductory post, and I never did the same, and now I’m a month and a half late. Shame on me.

Anyhow, I’m Makyo. I’ve been writing various sorts of things for years, natch, but I suppose organization is more pertinent in this role. I’ve been editor-in-chief of [adjective][species] since its inception back in 2011. During my time there, I’ve helped organize content on the site, managed members and authors, and managed side-projects such as the Furry Survey and panels at conventions. In addition to that, I’m an editor at Thurston Howl Publications, working on anthologies such as Arcana and responding to queries. I’ve also done other little organizational bits and bobs here and there, such as leading a programming track at FC and managing task organization at work.

All that to say that I hope most to offer what I can in terms of organization and member engagement. That sounds like a buzzword, but I really mean it: members should be actively engaged with the guild. Members get benefits, they have the right to vote (both on Guild issues and the Coyotls), and they have the chance to suggest changes and ideas for the Guild’s future. I want to do what I can to help facilitate that.

I’m definitely a bit of a process maven, so I’m organizing discussions and ideas through Trello boards and concomitant Slack channels.

Goals:

[ul][li]Move the forums off of Sean’s server. We’ve been promising him we would for a while now, but we should actually do so. There are a few ideas and some possible solutions being discussed on Trello board and in the #guild-forum channel on Slack.[/li]
[li]We’ve also been trying to move the Guild’s PayPal account out from under Poetigress’ name and into something more general for quite a while. We’ll be working on that, and discussing it on the Trello board and #finances Slack channel.[/li]